Christmas Snowflake Cookies

Memories of Christmases of our childhood are magical. In my family, it is not just celebrating Christ’s birth, lighting the advent candle, singing Christmas songs or rehearsing for school concerts, it’s a month-long season of baking Christmas Snowflake Cookies.

IMG_7762

My children love these cookies. I actually like them without the icing but my children love the decorated cookies. My daughter and I have a lot of fun decorating these cookies. We run an efficient assembly-line operation with me squirting on the icing and she puts on the sprinkles before it dries.

I know people will say Crisco is bad for you, and I have tried substitutes for it in this recipe but it was not quite the same. Like others have said, do everything in moderation. Besides, we only make this around Christmas, what’s a little indulgence?

Ingredients
1 cup sugar
3/4 cup Crisco shortening
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt

Method:
1. Mix the sugar, Crisco shortening, eggs and vanilla.
2. Stir in the flour, baking powder and salt.
3. Cover and refrigerate for at least an hour.
4. Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C)
5. Roll dough 1/8 inch thick on lightly floured surface.
6. Cut into shapes.
7. Place on ungreased cookie sheet and bake until light golden brown, about 6-8 minutes.
8. Remove cookies from the cookie sheet and allow to cool on a rack.
9. Decorate with icing if desired.

Icing
Blend, using a spoon, a few Tbsp powdered sugar and a few drops milk in a small bowl. Stir in 1 or 2 drops of food coloring into the icing mixture.

Author: One Stove

Hi, I am Vivien. I work with an educational consulting service. In my free time, I like trying new recipes that are quick and easy, planning my meals around foods that are in season and exploring farmers' markets and supermarkets in every country that I visit.

1 thought on “Christmas Snowflake Cookies”

Leave a Reply

