Peking Style Baby Back Ribs

The aroma of tantalizing, slow-cooked ribs greets me every evening when I walk past this famous ribs restaurant near my home. On weekends, there is a long line of people waiting to get in. Not willing to spend an hour standing in line, my deep craving for some mouth-watering ribs prompted me to make my own. I found a quick and easy recipe online for American style pork ribs. It called for a dry rub which I didn’t have on hand so I decided to omit that. I also couldn’t find that particular brand of BBQ sauce at my local supermarket. Not surprisingly, the ribs came out a little bland… so what do you do with a whole rack of bland-ish ribs? With some inspiration from a Chinese recipe for Peking Style Spareribs, I made a tangy seasoning sauce and smothered the ribs with it. What a world of difference! The tangy sauce is so finger-licking good, I am definitely going to make ribs this way again.

IMG_3423

1 lb pork ribs (cut into 6 separate ribs to speed up cooking time)

salt
pepper

Marinade:
5 Tbsp store bought BBQ sauce (I used Heinz. Hunt’s BBQ sauce works too)
3 Tbsp ketchup
1/2 tsp sweet chili sauce (optional)

Tangy seasoning sauce:
4 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
2 Tbsp sugar
2 Tbsp ketchup
1/2 tsp salt

Method:
1. Rinse and pat dry the ribs with a kitchen towel.
2. Rub both sides of the ribs with salt and pepper.
3. Combine the ingredients for the marinade in a bowl. Coat the ribs completely with the marinade.
4. Lay the ribs on a sheet of aluminium foil and seal tightly.
5. Refrigerate the ribs for at least 1 hour.
6. Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees F.
7. Transfer the ribs in the sealed aluminium foil to a baking tray.
8. Open up the foil, keeping the ribs loosely covered, bake for 1 hour. Then remove the aluminium foil covering and bake for 30 minutes.
9. Combine the ingredients for the tangy seasoning sauce in a bowl and set aside.
9. Take the ribs out of the oven and brush all over with the seasoning sauce before serving.

(inspired by ribs recipe at http://www.instructables.com/id/Quick-Easy-Baby-Back-Ribs-Recipe/)

Author: One Stove

Hi, I am Vivien. I work with an educational consulting service. In my free time, I like trying new recipes that are quick and easy, planning my meals around foods that are in season and exploring farmers' markets and supermarkets in every country that I visit.

4 thoughts on “Peking Style Baby Back Ribs”

  1. What a simple and delightful recipe. I want to make this asap. Just one question should I just bake them in the sealed aluminium foil or transfer them to a baking dish??? Please clarify. Thanks.

  2. Thanks for asking – I put the entire sealed aluminium foil thingy in a baking pan (to eliminate washing up later). I opened up the foil and kept it loosely covered for an hour and left it uncovered for the last half hour because I like it slightly charred in parts. I am going to update my recipe! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

