Apple and Pear Crumble

I moved countries and have not updated my blog in months.  You know how it is, you move to a different place and it takes forever to get back into a routine.  I actually have been cooking and taking lots of photos so I have a huge backlog of stuff.  I can’t promise but I am going to be more diligent in posting in the next few weeks.

Now I am back to living in Singapore – in an apartment where I have an oven again.  I can’t even begin to describe how much I had missed baking.  It is not just about making cookies or banana bread, but the sheer joy of sitting down to a quick meal of baked chicken when I don’t have time to chop up bits of vegetables or slice meat for a Chinese stir fry.   Not to mention the ability to prepare a home-cooked turkey for Thanksgiving or Christmas.

The first thing I did was to make a crumble with apples and pears.  This is a wonderful dessert and fun to make.    Watching and waiting for the crisp buttery shortbread crust to turn a golden brown, I can’t wait to polish off  the whole lot.   It is that good!

IMG_1997

For the crumble:

220 g plain flour

140 g sugar

120 g butter, chopped into small cubes

For the filling:

2 pears – peeled, cored and sliced

2 apples – peeled, cored and sliced

2 Tbsp sugar

80 ml water

Method:

1.  Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C.

2. To make the crumble, put the flour and sugar into a large bowl and mix well.  Rub the flour and butter using your fingertips until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.

3.  Arrange the pear and apple slices in a baking dish.  Sprinkle the sugar over it.  Pour water into the dish.

4.  Spoon the crumble on top, spreading it right up to the edges of the dish.  Using the back of the spoon to press it firmly down – the more tightly packed it is, the crisper it will be.

5.  Run a fork lightly over the surface to “crumble” the top.

6.  Bake in the oven for 40 minutes or until the crumble is browned and the fruit mixture is bubbling.

7.  Serve with vanilla ice cream.  Enjoy!

Author: One Stove

Hi, I am Vivien. I work with an educational consulting service. In my free time, I like trying new recipes that are quick and easy, planning my meals around foods that are in season and exploring farmers' markets and supermarkets in every country that I visit.

2 thoughts on “Apple and Pear Crumble”

  1. I have finally found you. I couldn’t find the link but here I am. This recipe is so simple and straightforward. I have bookmarked it for my weekend dessert. Thanks for sharing!!! Best wishes!

    1. Sorry, perhaps it is my fault. I am still new to blogging and I might have made mistakes in the settings. Sometimes I can’t Like or comment on other people’s posts which I like too – wordpress makes me sign in and then my comment is lost and I can’t figure out why. Thanks for your persistence and let me know if your dessert turns out well. Have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

