Lotus Root and Sweet Pea

A few days ago I made Lotus Root Soup but had bought too much lotus root so tonight I decided to cook the unused lotus root together with some sweet peas.  An unusual combination but it turned out quite well – the lotus root added an interesting crunch and flavor to the dish.   This is a really simple dish to prepare.

IMG_1927

About 2 inches of lotus root, sliced thinly

1 packet of sweet peas, with the ends cut off and the veins along the sides stripped

1 tsp hoisin sauce

1 tsp oyster sauce

salt to taste

1. Blanch the sweet peas in a pot of boiling water for a minute.

2. Heat up 1 Tbsp of oil, stir fry the lotus root with a bit of salt, about 2 minutes.

3. Add in the blanched sweet pea and stir fry together. Stir in hoisin sauce and oyster sauce.

Author: One Stove

Hi, I am Vivien. I work with an educational consulting service. In my free time, I like trying new recipes that are quick and easy, planning my meals around foods that are in season and exploring farmers' markets and supermarkets in every country that I visit.

Leave a Reply

