Miso Grilled Codfish

I saw this recipe in the newspaper a while ago and it reminded me of a mouthwatering dish I had eaten at a fancy Japanese restaurant.  I found the original recipe a bit too sweet and too salty at the same time, so I modified the recipe by reducing the amount of miso paste and sugar.  I like this version a lot better and besides cod is full of healthy omega-3 fatty acids and it is wonderfully buttery when cooked.   You will need a few specialty Japanese ingredients but they are worth getting and keeping in your fridge.   This makes an easy, elegant dinner for guests or a quick main dish for a lazy, rainy day.

Grilled Miso Cod fish

2  black cod fillets (about 1.5 to 2 cm thickness)

Marinade:

1/2 Tbsp sake
1 Tbsp mirin
1 Tbsp white miso paste (actually brownish in color)
1/2 tsp sugar

Method:

1.  Wash and pat dry the cod fillets and put aside.

2.  Line a baking dish with aluminium foil,  with extra foil hanging outside the dish.

3.  In a small bowl, make a paste with the sake, mirin, miso paste and sugar.

4.  Brush both sides of  the cod fillets with the paste and place it in the baking dish.  Cover it with the remainder of the aluminium foil.

Allow the fillets to soak in the marinade in the fridge for at least 1 hour.

5.  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.  Open the aluminium covering to expose the cod fillets and bake for about 30 minutes or until the top browns and blackens in spots.

Author: One Stove

Hi, I am Vivien. I work with an educational consulting service. In my free time, I like trying new recipes that are quick and easy, planning my meals around foods that are in season and exploring farmers' markets and supermarkets in every country that I visit.

2 thoughts on “Miso Grilled Codfish”

  1. I googled your blog…I hope i landed in the right place. The Miso grilled fish looks very delicious and easy to make. I love easy recipes. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

