Fried Small Fish with Peanuts

It’s been one year since I moved to Taiwan. In a previous post, I promised I will write about my food adventures in Taiwan. Taiwanese cuisine is many things. It’s not just the ubiquitous beef noodle, or the fried oyster omelet, or the sweet and vinegary three cup chicken. It is also the sweetest mango shaved ice, the refreshing pearl milk tea and many more regional specialties.

One of my first meals in Taipei was at a restaurant that served classic Taiwanese food. The food was very good and the dishes were delicious. I loved this fried, small fish with peanuts best. It was good to eat alone or with rice or porridge. It was addictive! When I came across these small fish sold fresh at the local market, I just had to buy them to experiment how to make this dish at home.

IMG_4619

Ingredients
80 g (3 oz) tiny white fish
50 g (3.5 oz) peanuts
6 Tbsp vegetable oil
1 red chili, sliced into small slivers
1 stalk spring onion, chopped into small pieces
3 cloves garlic, chopped roughly
1 tsp rice wine
Pinch salt and pepper to taste
1 tsp sugar (optional)

Method

1. Heat 4 tbsp oil in a frying pan, and stir fry the fish for a few minutes, until it is cooked. Remove and drain.
2. Heat the frying pan, add about 2 tablespoons of the oil and stir fry the chili, garlic and rice wine for a minute. Add the fish, peanuts, salt, pepper and sugar (optional) and stir fry for 5 minutes.

Author: One Stove

Hi, I am Vivien. I work with an educational consulting service. In my free time, I like trying new recipes that are quick and easy, planning my meals around foods that are in season and exploring farmers' markets and supermarkets in every country that I visit.

Leave a Reply

